

IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award

The William E. Newell Power Electronics Award is presented annually by the Power Electronics Society for outstanding achievement in power electronics. It is dedicated to the memory of Dr. William E. Newell of the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Awarded annually since 1977, this award has come to represent recognition by one's peers as an outstanding contributor to the field of power electronics.

M. Azizur Rahman (F'88) of Memorial University has been awarded the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award for outstanding achievement in Aachen, Germany on June 24, 2004 at the occassion of the Power Electronics Specialists Conference.

The recipient receives a plaque and cash prize of US \$5000. Dr. Rahman is the second Canadian recipient of Newell award; the first Canadian winner was Shashi B. Dewan from University of Toronto in 1979.

Azizur received his B.Sc.Eng, M.A.Sc and PhD degrees from the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET), Dhaka, University of Toronto and Carleton University in 1962, 1965 and 1968 respectively. In addition to his teaching for 42 years, Dr. Rahman has over 10 years of concurrent industrial experiences. He is a professional engineer in Newfoundland and Ontario.

In 1993, Dr. Rahman was the first Canadian to receive the **IEEE Power Engineering Society's Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Conversion Award**. He also received the IEEE Industry Applications Society Outstanding Achievement award in 1992 and is one of the few Canadian scholars to have received the highest achievement awards from three IEEE Societies.

