Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering Congrés canadien en génie électrique et informatique

1.0 Statistical overview of the conference

A record number of close to 700 papers were submitted to the CCECE 2003 conference. Obviously, this number of papers was impossible to handle for the Technical Program Committee led by Samuel Pierre. The number of papers were cut back to about 500 in a preliminary selection. Subsequently, final submissions that were accepted were around 350 papers from some 21 countries. Nevertheless, even this number of papers made the logistics of accomodation and number of parallel sessions necessary so difficult that extreme prudence had to be excercised.

However, due to the SARs scare, a record number of paper presentators from overseas, particularly China, did not make it to the conference; this caused some concern both in terms of the missing presentations and in the lack of hotel room bookings. But, in the end, a very succesful conference was achieved and the function broke even financially.

This conference broke all previous records in terms of number of paper submissions/presentations and number of attendees.

2.0 The Plenary Sessions

Four successful special plenary sessions were arranged (Table 1):

Table	1:	Plenary	sessions
-------	----	---------	----------

Presentator	Торіс	
Dr. L.Lai, City University, London, UK	Electricity Deregulation – Are We Going the Right Way ?	
Dr. G. Brassard, Université de Montréal	Quantum Mechanics and Cryptography	
Mme Isabelle Blain, CRSNG/ NSERC, Ottawa	NSERC Funding of Research in Canada	
Dr. P. W. Staecker, Director of R&D, M/A-COM, Boston.	2003: The Year of Recovery	



Opening Plenary Session on Monday morning (seated left to right): Vijay Sood (Co-Chair and emcee), Samuel Pierre (Technical Program Chair, Dr.L.Lai (speaker) Mo El-Hawary (President IEEE Canada) and Guy Olivier (Chair of the conference).



Photos above (Left to right): Plenary speakers: Dr L.Lai, Mme Isabelle Blain, and K.Wu introducing Dr P. Staeker

by Guy Olivier, Vijay Sood* and Samuel Pierre, Chair, Co-Chair and Tech. Program Chair, respectively Ecole Polytechnique of Montreal, Montreal, QC *Hydro Quebec, Varennes, QC.

3.0 Special Workshop

CANMET Energy Technology Centre (CETC), in collaboration with CCECE'2003, arranged a workshop on Grid-connection of Inverterbased Distributed Generators: Challenges and R&D Needs that was held in Montreal on May 7th 2003. The purpose of this half-day workshop was primarily to allow a technical exchange between Canadian researchers working on renewable energy, small-scale distributed generation and grid interconnection topics.

Selected speakers presented an overview of the topic (Table 2).

Presentator	Торіс
S.Martel & M.Dostie	Introduction and Agenda
Pat Cusack Arise Technologies Corporation	Grid-connected photo-voltaic systems: Review of inverters technology
Eric Le Courtois Hydro-Quebec	Microturbines technology and R & D needs
Liuchen Chang Univ. of N. Brunswick	Static inverter-based wind systems
Julien Meng Univ. of N. Brunswick	Distributed generation and communica- tion protocols
Mamadou Doumbia Canmet Energy Tech. Centre	Grid connected inverters: Review of R&D activities
Konrad Mauch Xantrex Technology	Round Table Discussion

Table 2: Special workshop



Photo on the left: M.Dostie and S.Martel open the workshop. Photo on right shows a view of the audience at the workshop.

4.0 Students Competition

A write up is available on page 28 of this issue of the CR.

5.0 Awards Banquet

A write up is available on pages 29-30.of this issue of the CR.



At the recent Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering, held in Montreal on the 4-7 May 2003, the following Student Competition Winners were announced:

Name	Institute	Paper #
Ms Yi Liu	University of Ottawa	#458: Vision-based Detection Of Activity For Traffic Control by Y. Liu, P. Payeur
Ms Wei Zhang	University of Ottawa	#452: Iterative Multiuser Detection and Decoding for Highly Correlated Narrow-Band Systems and Heavily Loaded CDMA Systems by Wei Zhang, Claude D'Amours
Ms Jingqiu Shao	University of Calgary	#231: A New Measure of Software Complexity based on Cognitive Weights by Jingqiu Shao and Yingxu Wang
Ms Shahrzad Esmaili	Ryerson University	#108: A Novel Spread Spectrum Audio Watermarking Scheme Based On Time-frequency Charac- teristics by Shahrzad Esmaili, Sridhar Krishnan, Kaamran Raahemifar

Canadian Student Competition Winners

Awards:

All four papers were ranked on a equal basis. All four recipients were presented with their awards at a special luncheon held in their honor. Their awards included a certificate, a cash prize of \$250.00, a text book from McGraw Hill, and a computer bag.



The Students Competition Awards Banquet was held at lunchtime on 7 May 2003.

At the Headtable were seated (from left to right): Dr. S.Pierre, Ms Jingqiu Shao, Dr. Guy Olivier, Ms Wei Zhang, W. Read, Ms Yi Liu, Ms Shahrzad Esmaili and Dr. Vijay Sood

Winning Paper Selection Process

All papers from students of Ecole Polytechnic, Montreal were eliminated due to the Organization Committee from the school being host of the conference. All papers had to follow the guidelines for submission of papers to the Conference.

Papers submitted must have the first named author to be a student. Eight papers were first pre-selected by an external committee. Then a final selection of the four papers was made by a selection committee composed of: Drs. G.Olivier, S.Pierre, V.K.Sood, F.Guibault and E. Ngundui

Awards presentation ceremony



Ms Yi Liu receives her award from Ferial El-Hawary. Looking on are the representatives from McGraw Hill Ryerson (Mme. Bissonette and her colleaque).



Ms Jingqiu Shao receives her award. Looking on are the representatives from McGraw Hill Ryerson and Dr Wang (supervisor).





Ms Wei Zhang receives her award from Mo El-Hawary. Looking on are the representatives from McGraw Hill Ryerson (Mme. Bissonette and her colleaque). Ms Shahrzad Esmaili receives her award. Looking on are the representatives from McGraw Hill and Dr S.Krishnan (supervisor).

Centre picture (from left to right): Dr Wang, Ms Jingqiu Shao, Vijay Sood, Dr Krishnan, Ms Shahrzad Esmaili, Dr S. Pierre, Ms Yi Liu, Dr. G. Olivier, Ms Wei Zhang, Dr W.Kinsner, Dr. M.El-Hawary, Dr. F.El-Hawary, Dr. C. D'Amours and Dr.R.Findlay

