#### General Chair Xavier Fernando

Technical Program Committee Scott Yam (Co-Chair) Amin Mobasher (Co-Chair) Gerry Moschopoulos (Co-Chair) Glenn Cowan **Emanuel Istrate** Mark Coates Alireza Ghaderipoor Xianbin Wang Matthew Kyan **Olivier** Trescases Trevor Grant Carolyn McGregor James C. Lacefield Joshua Marshall Soosan Beheshti Mohammad Dadash Zadeh Kankar Bhattacharya Ebrahim Bagheri Jelena Misic

> Tutorials Chair Wai Tung

Workshops Chairs Alireza Sadeghian Hooman Tahayori

Finance Chair Stephen F. Wilson

Local Arrangements Chairs Karthi Umapathi Mehrnaz Shokrollahi

> Publications Chair Sean Dunne

Publicity Chair Maike Luiken

Registration Chair Sattar Hussain

Industrial Track Chair Alexei Botchkarev

Sponsorships Chair Talieh Tabatabaei

Student Activities Chair Olivier Trescases

IT Chairs Kuganeswaran Thambu Sajjadul Latif

Conference Advisory Chair Wahab Almuhtadi

Steering Committee Members Vijay Bhargava Sri Krishnan Vijay Sood Ling Guan

> IEEE Canada President Keith Brown

IEEE Canada President Elect Amir G. Aghdam

Contact Cathie Lowell IEEE Canada PO Box 63005, SDM #742 102 Plaza Drive, Dundas, ON, L9H 6Y3

# **CCECE 2014**

# The 27th Annual Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering

May 5 to May 8, 2014, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

# http://www.ccece2014.org

"Electrical and Computer Engineering—The Enabler of the New Economy"

# **Call for Papers and Proposals**

The 2014 IEEE Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering (CCECE 2014) will be held in downtown Toronto, Ontario, Canada during May 5–8 2014. CCECE 2014 provides a forum for the presentation of electrical and computer engineering research and development from Canada and around the world. Papers are invited, in French or English, for the following symposia:

CIRCUITS, DEVICES AND SYSTEMS	Chair: Glen Cowan (Concordia), Emanuel Istrate (UofT)
CONTROL AND ROBOTICS	Chair: Joshua Marshall (Queens), Soosan Beheshti (Ryerson)
► COMMUNICATIONS AND NETWORKING	Chair: Mark Coates (McGill), Alireza Ghaderipoor (Broadcom)
► BIOMEDICAL AND HEALTH INFORMATICS	Chair: Carolyn McGregor (UOIT), James C. Lacefield (UWO)
COMPUTERS, SOFTWARE AND APPLICATIONS	Chair: Ebrahim Bagheri (Ryerson), Jelena Misic (Ryerson)
► POWER ELECTRONICS AND ENERGY SYSTEMS	Chair: Olivier Trescases (UofT), Trevor Grant (Candura)
SIGNAL AND MULTIMEDIA PROCESSING	Chair: Xianbin Wang (UWO), Matthew Kyan (Ryerson)
SMART GRIDS AND RENEWABLE ENERGY	Chair: Mohammad Dadash Zadeh (UWO), Kankar Bhattacharya (Waterloo)

Number of best paper awards will be given as well as arrangements are made for publication of extended versions of selected papers in the *Canadian Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering* (CJECE). Conference content will be submitted for inclusion into *IEEE Xplore* as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases.

## **Industrial Exhibits and Sponsorships**

For industrial exhibits please contact the Industrial Exhibits Chair at: exhibits@ccece2014.org For sponsorships please contact the Sponsorship Chair at sponsorships@ccece2014.org

#### **Important Dates**

Notification of Acceptance will be sent out:	February 14, 2014
Author's Registration ends by:	March 4, 2014
Advance Registration ends by:	April 1, 2014

### **Questions or Comments**

For any questions or comments, please contact the Conference Chair: Xavier Fernando, Tel: 416-979-5000 x6077, Fax: 416-979-5280, Email: xavier@ieee.org



# **CCGEI 2014**

# 27e Congrès Canadien annuel en Génie Électrique et Informatique

Du 5 mai au 8 mai 2014 à Toronto, province de l'Ontario (Canada)

# http://www.ccece2014.org

*"Génie électrique et informatique—Le moteur de la nouvelle économie"* 

# Appel à contributions

Le 27e congrès canadien annuel en génie électrique et informatique (CCGEI 2014) se tiendra du 5 au 8 mai 2014 au centre-ville de Toronto, en Ontario au Canada. Le CCGEI est une plate forme dédiée à la présentation et à la valorisation des résultats de recherches, en génie électrique et informatique, réalisées tant au canada qu'ailleurs dans le monde. Les articles soumis doivent être rédigés en français ou en anglais et s'inscrire dans l'une ou l'autre des thématiques ci-dessous.

CIRCUITS, DISPOSITIFS ET SYSTÈMES	Prés.: Glen Cowan (Concordia), Emanuel Istrate (UoſT)	
COMMANDES ET ROBOTIQUE	Prés.: Joshua Marshall (Queens), Soosan Beheshti (Ryerson)	
COMMUNICATIONS ET RÉSEAUX	Prés.: Mark Coates (McGill), Alireza Ghaderipoor (Broadcom)	
► INFORMATIQUE APPLIQUÉE AUX SCIENCES BIOMÉDICALES ET DE LA SANTÉ Prés.: Carolyn McGregor (uoIT), James C. Lacefield (uwo)		
► ORDINATEURS, LOGICIELS ET APPLICATIONS	Prés.: Ebrahim Bagheri (Ryerson), Jelena Misic (Ryerson)	
► ÉLECTRONIQUE DE PUISSANCE ET RÉSEAUX ÉLECTRIQUES	Prés.: Olivier Trescases (UofT), Trevor Grant (Candura)	
► TRAITEMENT DES SIGNAUX MULTIMÉDIA	Prés.: Xianbin Wang (Uwo), Matthew Kyan (Ryerson)	
► RÉSEAUX INTELLIGENTS ET ÉNERGIE RENOUVELABLE	Prés.: Mohammad Dadash Zadeh (UWO), Kankar Bhattacharya (Waterloo)	

Plusieurs prix de meilleur article seront décernés. Les meilleurs articles seront retenus pour publication dans le Journal Canadien de Génie Électrique et Informatique (JCGEI). Le compte rendu de la conférence sera soumis pour inclusion dans IEEE Xplore ainsi que pour indexation dans différentes bases de données.

# **Expositions industrielles et commandites**

Pour les expositions industrielles, veuillez contacter le président du comité des expositions industrielles à exhibits@ccece2014.org.

Pour les commandites, veuillez faire parvenir un courriel au président du comitédes commandites, à l'adresse sponsorships@ccece2014.org

## Dates à retenir

Date prévue pour la notification d'acceptation:	d'ici le 14 février 2014
Date limite pour l'inscription des conférenciers:	le 4 mars 2014
Date limite pour l'inscription anticipée:	le 1er avril 2014

### **Questions ou commentaires**

Les questions et commentaires peuvent être adressés au président du congrès : Xavier Fernando, tél. : 416 979-5000, poste 6077; téléc. : 416 979-5280; courriel : xavier@ieee.org



#### Président général Xavier Fernando

Comité du programme technique Scott Yam (Co-président) Amin Mobasher (Co-président) Gerry Moschopoulos (Co-président) Glenn Cowan **Emanuel Istrate** Mark Coates Alireza Ghaderipoor Xianbin Wang Matthew Kyan **Olivier Trescases** Trevor Grant Carolyn McGregor James C. Lacefield Joshua Marshall Soosan Beheshti Mohammad Dadash Zadeh Kankar Bhattacharya Ebrahim Bagheri Jelena Misic

> Séances de tutorat Wai Tung

Ateliers Alireza Sadeghian Hooman Tahayori

Finances Stephen F. Wilson

Ententes locales Karthi Umapathi Mehrnaz Shokrollahi

> Publications Sean Dunne

Publicité Maike Luiken

Inscription Sattar Hussain

Secteur industriel Alexei Botchkarev

**Commandites** Talieh Tabatabaei

Activités à l'intention des étudiants Olivier Trescases

> **Présidents des TI** Kuganeswaran Thambu Sajjadul Latif

Comité consultatif du congrès Wahab Almuhtadi

> Comité directeur Vijay Bhargava Sri Krishnan Vijay Sood Ling Guan\_

Président d'IEEE Canada Keith Brown

IEEE Canada président élu Amir G. Aghdam

Contact Cathie Lowell IEEE Canada PO Box 63005, SDM #742 102 Plaza Drive, Dundas, ON, L9H 6Y3

# For your home and auto insurance, being in the right place has its benefits.





A partnership that serves you well with exclusive group rates, personalized coverage and service.



GET YOUR EXCLUSIVE QUOTE 1-888-476-8737

thepersonal.com/ieee Your exclusive group rate in as little as 10 minutes.



The right fit.